Virtual Symposium

Hey all! So for my virtual symposium, I decided to do an Ignite Session. So 20 slides, 5 minutes, and lots of talking!! I either took the pictures or created most of the images you will see. I had so much fun and can’t wait to share it with you, so without further ado:

As you heard in my talk, I had not originally intended to do this; I was going to rap, or sing, but those both failed spectacularly. I really enjoyed making everything for this and putting it together though. I hope you enjoyed it!!

Thanks again for the awesome semester! Keep in touch 🙂

Holly

References

Mathews, B. (2012). Think like a startup. Retrieved from http://vtechworks.lib.vt.edu/bitstream/handle/10919/18649/Think%20like%20a%20STARTUP.pdf?sequence=1

Casey, M.E. & Savastinuk, L. C.  (2007).  Library 2.0: A guide to participatory library service.  Medford, N.J.: Information Today.

Holmquist, J. [Jan Holmquist]. (2013, August 23). MOOC [Video file]. Retrieved from http://bit.ly/1O1qGvm

Stephens, M.  (2011).  The hyperlinked library. Retrieved from http://mooc.hyperlib.sjsu.edu/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/StephensHyperlinkedLibrary2011.pdf

Stephens, M.  (2014).  Library as classroom. Retrieved from http://lj.libraryjournal.com/2014/05/opinion/michael-stephens/library-as-classroom-office-hours/#_

Stephens, M.  (2014). Reflective practice. Retrieved from http://lj.libraryjournal.com/2014/01/opinion/michael-stephens/reflective-practice-office-hours/

*Slides 2, 4, 8, 10, and 13 were taken from Google image searches. The rest were created by me; some were made on the computer, I drew some, and the rest are photos I’ve taken.

Here is a closer look at all of my slides:

INFO287 Ignite Session pics.001 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.002 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.003 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.004 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.005 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.006 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.007 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.008 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.009 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.010 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.011 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.012 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.013 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.014 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.015 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.016 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.017 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.018 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.019 INFO287 Ignite Session pics.020

This entry was posted in INFO287, The Hyperlinked Library, Uncategorized, Virtual Symposium and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Virtual Symposium

  1. Sarah Liberman says:

    Yay, @holly, thanks again for another fun, insightful vlog! It’s great you made a poster of your images, too: The giant, collaborative giraffe reminds me of the dragons in Chinese New Year’s parades. Wouldn’t that be cool to have community events like that?

    Speaking of stories and fandom, have you heard of the Periodic Table of Storytelling? It’s based of metadata from TV Tropes.

    http://www.designthroughstorytelling.net/periodic/

    Like

  2. Christie Christophersen says:

    Holly, Great Ignite video. Loved your slides, word clouds and photos. I enjoyed your creativity and enthusiasm. My symposium was an ignite type video but talked for 6 minutes, just a wee bit too long. You were brave to have a video of yourself included in your slides too! Best to you and your future with libraries!

    Like

  3. Gina says:

    Great Ignite Session. I loved the video, slides, and topics you chose to cover. The vlogs you’ve done this semester were wonderful and I love how you went outside your comfort zone and pushed yourself to learn new skills. Very brave of you and I loved all your vlogs! Great job!!

    Like

  4. SO COOL! May I use your word cloud heart for future classes with attribution?

    Like

  5. Laura S. says:

    @holly Beautiful work. Your enthusiasm and heart really shine through. It has been so awesome to watch you grow as a “vlogger” this semester. I really appreciate you sharing your failures too as it adds to the realness and human touch of your video. Thank you for your fun, engaging and creative contributions. Take Care.

    Like

Leave a comment