Welcome to the Jungle

Hello everyone!

My name is Holly, and I live in Olympia, Washington. I am a Library Associate in the Youth Services department at the Tumwater Timberland Library. We are part of the Timberland Regional Library system, which has 27 branches. My interest is teen services, and I primarily work with teens at my library, though I also host a weekly toddler storytime (though we are on break right now) and I assist in the event planning for children’s events as well. I work closely with a colleague in the adult services department to do weekly teen programming (our last program for the summer was yesterday), and we sort of make up the unofficial teen services team. I am a big advocate of teen services, both in general and within the library community at work. I was recently tapped by the director of youth services for our system to work with another librarian to present a teen services training that is open system-wide to staff who are interested in learning more. I am so excited! In November I will also be attending YALSA’s Teen Services Symposium in Portland! Is anyone else going?

I am also very active in my library’s social media and online presence. One of my job duties is to do weekly postings on our branch’s Facebook page (I post twice on Thursdays). I am also on the online reader’s advisory committee for the system; we use QuestionPoint and patrons are able to fill out a form with likes (or dislikes) about books, and one of the staff members on the team will take it and create a personalized reading recommendation of 3-5 titles for that patron. About 2 months ago I also joined the Teens Online committee, which consists of four of us running the Teen Facebook page, the Teen Tumblr, and the Teen Instagram, as well as updating the teen page on our library’s website and updating the online booklists for teens (I am currently working on Sci-Fi and Fractured Fairytales with happy endings).

This fall I am pleased to be starting a teen volunteer group called Teen Tech Tutors, which we are modifying based on another branch’s model. On the second Friday of each month, we will have teen volunteers available for two hours at a drop-in clinic that adults (or anyone, really) can come to for help with their various electronic devices. I am thrilled because I think this is a really great way to help our patrons connect with other community members and also show teens that they are valued and important to the library community. I believe very much in participatory culture, and the use of online tools and social media in promoting the library, which is a large part of why I am so interested in this class. I believe that this is one of the most applicable classes to my current job, and I am so, so excited to be able to take it! I cannot wait to learn more about ways to utilize technology in community-building and collaboration within the library.

I am planning to graduate next December, and this is my 6th semester in the program. I joint majored in Spanish and Linguistics and minored in Math at New York University. I miss NYC every day, but for now I am where I need to be.

I decided to try making a video to share some fun facts about myself. I got a new computer recently, so I have been having fun and experimenting with it. Hopefully it works!

And, as promised, here I am with Matt Bomer:

Matt Bomer

This entry was posted in INFO287 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Welcome to the Jungle

  1. Kristen Amaral says:

    Hello! Nice to meet you!

    Nice pic with Mathew Bomer!

    Love his tv series.

    Look forward to getting to know you better.

    Kris

    Like

    • Holly Guthrie says:

      Hi Kris! Nice you meet you too!

      Thank you! I met him along with Tim DeKay and Marsha Thomason on set that day, and it just about made my year. I love White Collar so much, and was sad to see it end!!

      I look forward to getting to know you too!!

      🙂 Holly

      Like

  2. Sarah Liberman says:

    Hi Holly,

    Thanks for posting your intro video — methinks LIS is one of the best fields for being a fangrrrl(*). Perhaps this might be best in the Guilty Pleasures forum (except I don’t feel any guilt about it) is that I’m totally into webcomics and indie comics (though I do enjoy Marvel and old Vertigo, too!). I’m slowly getting back into attending conventions, too, this year — great places to meet and chat with creators and fellow fans. ALA Annual in SF certainly had a welcoming environment similar to good media/culture cons I’ve been to!

    (*)Heh, a variation on riotgrrrl, which I also identify with. 😉

    Like

  3. This is SO COOL. Thank you for the video. I am fascinated by fan culture as well. I got into Twin Peaks back in the day and think it would have been incredible if the internet existed then for the TP fans.

    I buy books too!

    Welcome to #hyperlib!

    Like

    • Cathy Mardiguian says:

      I’m just getting into Twin Peaks now (Hank Green said it was one of his favorite shows, and I find the Green brothers have great suggestions!) It’s a fun show, but it’s such a mess trying to explain it to someone who didn’t see the first couple of episodes! Luckily my fiance stuck through it – we just started Season 2, and I’m pleasantly baffled.

      Like

  4. Cathy Mardiguian says:

    Hi Holly! I’m between teen services and adult services – though teen services is part of the adult department in my current system, so I wouldn’t really have to choose!
    Reader’s advisory has always been fascinating to me; I wish that I could perform it! Do you work mostly from your own knowledge of materials, or do you use databases to help build suggestion lists?

    Like

Leave a comment